Measure and Improve Agility

The author of this article is Bahaa Al Zubaidi. As an IT expert, Bahaa Al Zubaidi always shares his experience on various platforms. This time he talks about how to measure and improve agility across deliverables.

If you are involved in agile implementation in your organization, then you need to measure the implementation. Agile maturity assessment is a tool that helps you assess how good your agile implementation is.

To get the best out of Agile, it is important to implement the core principles and values. A mistake here would prevent you from getting the best benefits of Agile. This is where measuring agile implementation can help. It would tell you where you stand and help identify areas for improvement.

Implementation challenges

There are many implementation challenges organizations face with Agile implementation. These include:

  • Ensuring a culture as well as mindset shift.
  • Changing the traditional organization structure and hierarchy.
  • Ability to learn when there is pressure from deadlines.
  • Change not driven at the top level.
  • Agile only being part of the vocabulary but no serious focus during implementation.

Agile Maturity Assessment Model

To overcome the challenges and ensure smooth implementation, a structured approach is needed. Using an agile maturity assessment model can be helpful. Such an assessment model would be based on the ten pillars of Agile. This would help in assessing the maturity of the agile implementation. The ten areas are:

  1. Culture and mindset
  2. Agile organization structure, team collaboration, and skilling.
  3. Managing backlogs
  4. Planning and commitment by teams
  5. Practicing Agile, process and governance, and metrics.
  6. Engineering maturity to ensure quality.
  7. Automation
  8. Delivery Maturity
  9. Continuous improvement and ensuring customer satisfaction
  10. Inspecting and Adapting

Each of these areas would have sub-areas. The assessment would be done using a detailed questionnaire. Based on the assessment results, the agile maturity level is decided. There are a total of 5 levels, details as given below:

  • Level 5 – Expert. This is where agile is part of the culture and there are no misses.
  • Level 4 – Fully Implemented. This is where performance is compliant and metric driven. There can be rare misses.
  • Level 3 – Largely Maintained. When implementation is done most of the time, it refers to an almost there, situation.
  • Level 4 – Minimally Implemented. This is where implementation is partial and done sometimes. It is people driven and not process driven.
  • Level 1 – Not Implemented. This is when implementation has not happened.

This article is published by the editorial board of techdomain news and authored by our prime contributor Bahaa Al Zubaidi. For more information, please visit,

Contact Us